IFL Rookies of the Year Announced

IFL Rookies of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2017 Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Verlon Reed (QB, Salt Lake Screaming Eagles)

Salt Lake Screaming Eagles QB Verlon Reed has been named the 2017 Offensive Rookie of the Year. Reed (6'1,200, Ohio State) quickly emerged as one of the most explosive playmakers in the IFL. The former Ohio State Buckeye provided a dual threat offensive weapon during the Screaming Eagles' inaugural IFL season.

Reed finished his rookie campaign completing 274 of 463 passes for 2,734 yards and 54 touchdowns. His 2,734 passing yards and 54 passing touchdowns both ranked third in the IFL.  In addition, Reed finished the 2017 season as the IFL's leading rusher with 759 yards. He also rushed for 16 touchdowns, which ranked fifth in the IFL.

Reed was named IFL Offensive Player of the Week in Week 2 where his game-winning overtime drive gave the Screaming Eagles their first ever victory. Reed's offensive prowess helped the Screaming Eagles finish their season ranking third in offensive yards with 231.6 yards per game.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Trey Wafford (DB, Nebraska Danger)

Nebraska Danger DB Trey Wafford has been named the 2017 IFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. Wafford (5'11,200, Middle Tennessee State) emerged as one of the most physical defensive playmakers in the IFL.

Wafford concluded his rookie campaign with 129 tackles, six tackles for loss and 12 pass breakups. His 129 tackles ranked second in the IFL.

The Nebraska defensive back posted double-digit tackles in five games and helped the Danger advance to their fifth Intense Conference Championship game in 2017. Wafford was named as the Week 1 Special Teams Player of the Week where he recorded 12 tackles and returned a blocked kick for a touchdown.

Wafford was named as a First-Team All-IFL Defensive Back at the conclusion of the season.

Wafford is Nebraska's second consecutive Defensive Rookie of the Year selection. DB Jabari Gorman was selected for the honor in 2016.

The remaining IFL Individual Awards will be released according to the following schedule.

Thursday, July 6 – Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Player of the Year

Friday, July 7 - IFL MVP and Coach of the Year

The 2017 United Bowl Championship kicks off on Saturday, July 8 at 5:05 PM at the Denny Sanford Premier Center between the Arizona Rattlers and the Sioux Falls Storm. The 2017 United Bowl can be viewed live on the IFL's YouTube channel!