IFL Players of the Year Announced

IFL Players of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2017 Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Players of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year: Charles McCullum (QB.Wichita Falls Nighthawks)

Wichita Falls Nighthawks QB Charles McCullum has been named the 2017 Offensive Player of the Year. The 2016 IFL MVP picked up right where he left off last season, destroying opponent's defenses.

McCullum (6'2,205, Stillman) led the IFL in completions, passing yards, and passing touchdowns as he led the Nighthawks to a 12-4 record. McCullum finished his season completing 311 of 472 passes for 3,049 yards and and 75 touchdowns. He also added 276 rushing yards and 12 rushing touchdowns.

During the season, McCullum inched his way up the IFL record book. McCullum set a new IFL single season record with his 311 passing completions. Additionally, McCullum now ranks second only to IFL Hall of Fame Chris Dixon in career passing yards (11,942) and career passing touchdowns (263).His 276 rushing yards also move him to fourth all-time with 2,267.

Following the season, McCullum was named First Team All-IFL QB.

Defensive Player of the Year: Javicz Jones (LB. Iowa) 

Iowa Barnstormers LB Javicz Jones has been named the 2017 IFL Defensive Player of the Year. Jones's stellar defensive play was a catalyst for the Barnstormers return to the playoffs for the first time in eight seasons.

Jones (6'0,203, Mary Hardin-Baylor) finished the season with 148 tackles, two sacks, two tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, three interceptions, four pass breakups and one blocked kick.  Jones' 148 tackles were the most in the IFL this season. 

Jones' strong defensive play helped the Barnstormers rebound from a 2-2 start and win 11 consecutive games, the longest steak in the IFL. The Barnstormers finished the 2017 season ranking second in points allowed per game (36.3). Iowa's defense held teams to 30 points or less in eight games in 2017.

The Iowa captain was named twice named IFL Defensive Player of the Week during the season. His Week 4 performance included an interception return for a touchdown and his Week 8 included 12.5 tackles and forced fumble. At the conclusion of the regular season, Jones was named First Team All-IFL Linebacker.

Special Teams Player of the Year: Tyler Williams (KR, Wichita Falls)

Wichita Falls Nighthawks KR Tyler Williams has been named the 2017 IFL Special Teams Player of the Year after a record breaking season. 

Williams (5'7,175, Akron) became the IFL's new single season all-purpose yard record holder after accounting for 2,554 yards on the season. En route to his record, Williams became the first player to top 2,000 all-purpose yards since 2009. 

Williams finished the season with 549 rushing yards and 17 rushing touchdowns, 55 receptions for 405 yards and 10 touchdowns and 1,600 kick return yards. He returned two kickoffs for touchdown. Williams' 1,600 kick return yards are the second most in IFL history (DeMarcus James). The Wichita Falls playmaker led the IFL in scoring by a convincing margin as well. Williams accounted for 180 total points on the season. Sioux Falls Storm QB Lorenzo Brown scored the second most with 146.

Following the season, Williams was named First Team All-IFL KR and Second Team All-IFL RB. 

The remaining IFL Individual Awards will be released according to the following schedule.

Friday, July 7 - IFL MVP and Coach of the Year

The 2017 United Bowl Championship kicks off on Saturday, July 8 at 5:05 PM at the Denny Sanford Premier Center between the Arizona Rattlers and the Sioux Falls Storm. The 2017 United Bowl can be viewed live on the IFL's YouTube channel!