IFL MVP & Coach of the Year Announced

IFL MVP & Coach of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2017 Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year Awards.

Most Valuable Player: Charles McCullum (QB.Wichita Falls Nighthawks)

Wichita Falls Nighthawks QB Charles McCullum has been named the 2017 Most Valuable Player. The 2016 IFL MVP picked up right where he left off last season, destroying opponent's defenses.

McCullum (6'2,205, Stillman) led the IFL in completions, passing yards, and passing touchdowns as he led the Nighthawks to a 12-4 record. McCullum finished his season completing 311 of 472 passes for 3,049 yards and and 75 touchdowns. He also added 276 rushing yards and 12 rushing touchdowns.

During the season, McCullum inched his way up the IFL record book. McCullum set a new IFL single season record with his 311 passing completions. Additionally, McCullum now ranks second only to IFL Hall of Fame Chris Dixon in career passing yards (11,942) and career passing touchdowns (263).His 276 rushing yards also move him to fourth all-time with 2,267.

Following the season, McCullum was named First Team All-IFL QB.

Head Coach of the Year: Dixie Wooten (Iowa) 

Iowa Barnstormers Head Coach Dixie Wooten has been named the 2017 IFL Head Coach of the Year.

In his first season with the Barnstormers, Wooten guided the team to a 13-3 record and their first playoff appearance since 2009. Under Wooten's supervision, the Barnstormers won an IFL season-high 11 consecutive games and held opponents to 30 or fewer points in eight games. The Barnstormers finished the 2017 season ranking second in points allowed per game (36.3)

Under Wooten's tutelage six Barnstormers were named as All-IFL selections. WR Brady Roland, LB Javicz Jones and DL Ra'Shawde Myers were named as First Team selections. QB Travis Partridge, OL D'Angelo McCray and DB Jamie Bender were named as Second Team selections. In addition, LB Javicz Jones was named IFL Defensive Player of the Year and QB Travis Partridge was named the IFL's Most Improved Player.