2018 Players of the Year Announced

2018 Players of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2018 Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Players of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year: Darrell Monroe (RB, Arizona Rattlers)

Arizona Rattlers RB Darrell Monroe has been named the 2018 IFL Offensive Player of the Year.

Monroe (6'2,220, Arizona Western) led the IFL in rushing touchdowns (28) and average yards per rush (5.2) leading the way for the Rattlers to tie for an IFL-best 11-3 record. In addition, his 771 rushing yards were second most in the IFL this season. Monroe finished his season with 147 rushing attempts for 771 yards and 28 touchdowns. He also added 181 receiving yards and had 952 total yards on the season.

Monroe broke a long-standing IFL record in 2018 as he rushed for 11 touchdowns in a single game. The previous IFL record in a single game was seven. At the end of the season, Monroe was named First Team All-IFL RB.

Monroe is the first running back in IFL history to earn Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Defensive Player of the Year: Bryce Enyard (DB, Iowa Barnstormers)

Iowa Barnstormers DB Bryce Enyard has been named the 2018 IFL Defensive Player of the Year. Enyard's stellar play helped fuel the Barnstormers dominant defense and propel the team to their first ever United Bowl appearance.

Building off a 2017 season in which he earned a roster spot as a tryout player, Enyard (6'0,195 Northwest Missouri St.) developed into one of the preeminent defensive backs in the IFL in 2018. Enyard finished his 2018 campaign with 78 tackles, two tackles for loss, eight interceptions and 13 pass breakups. Enyard's eight interceptions and 13 pass breakups both led the IFL.

Enyard's strong defensive play helped the Barnstormers lead the IFL in fewest points allowed per game (35.2), rank first in interceptions (18) and rank second in the IFL in yards allowed (211.8) At the conclusion of the regular season, Enyard was named First Team All-IFL Defensive Back.

This is the second year in a row in which an Iowa Barnstormer has been named IFL Defensive Player of the Year (LB Javicz Jones, 2017).

Special Teams Player of the Year: B.J Hill (KR, Green Bay Blizzard)

Green Bay Blizzard KR B.J Hill has been named the 2018 IFL Special Teams Player of the Year.

Returning to the IFL after a four-year absence, the IFL Hall of Fame KR picked up right where he left off in 2018. Hill (5'9,185, Ball State) continued to be a dynamic player in all aspects of the game this season.

Starting on offense, defense and special teams throughout the season, Hill finished 2018 with 315 rushing yards and four rushing touchdowns, 18 receptions for 206 yards and 2 touchdowns, 34 tackles and 1,217 kick return yards. His 1,804 all-purpose ranked him first in the IFL.

Hill continued his legacy of being one of the most dangerous return men in the IFL as he returned four kickoffs for touchdowns in 2018. His four kickoff return touchdowns moved him to 17 on his career, most in IFL history.

Following the season, Hill was named First Team All-IFL Kick Returner.

The remaining IFL Individual Awards will be released according to the following schedule.

Thursday, July 5 - IFL MVP and Coach of the Year

The 2018 United Bowl Championship kicks off on Saturday, July 7 at 7:05 PM at the Wells Fargo Arena between the Sioux Falls Storm and the Iowa Barnstormers. The 2018 United Bowl can be viewed live on the IFL's YouTube channel!