2018 IFL MVP and Coach of the Year Announced

2018 IFL MVP and Coach of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2018 Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year Awards.

Most Valuable Player: Drew Powell (QB, Iowa Barnstormers)

Iowa Barnstormers QB Drew Powell has been named the 2018 IFL Most Valuable Player. In his first season at quarterback for the Barnstormers, Powell led the team to their first playoff victory since 2009 and their first-ever United Bowl appearance.

Powell (6'3,220 Livingstone College) finished his season completing 154 of 226 passes for 1,604 yards and 34 touchdowns against just four interceptions. A threat running the ball, Powell rushed for an IFL leading 945 yards and 23 touchdowns. Powell's 945 single season rushing yards were second most IFL history.

Missing two games during season due to a stint in the CFL, Powell was named IFL Offensive Player of the Week three times during the season and topped 90 yards rushing in six games.

Following the season, Powell was named First Team All-IFL QB.

Head Coach of the Year: Dixie Wooten (Iowa) 

For a second consecutive season, Iowa Barnstormers Head Coach Dixie Wooten has been named the IFL Head Coach of the Year.

In his second season with the Barnstormers, Wooten guided Iowa to the team's first-ever United Bowl appearance, the team's first playoff victory since 2009 and tied for first in the IFL with an 11-3 record. Under Wooten's supervision, the Barnstormers continued their stout defense of last year, holding teams to an IFL-lowest 35.3 points per game.

Under Wooten's tutelage, QB Drew Powell was named IFL MVP and DB Bryce Enyard was named Defensive Player of the Year. Additionally, eight Barnstormers were named as All-IFL selections. QB Drew Powell, WR Brady Roland, DL Keith Jones Jr.,LB Zachary Allen and DB Bryce Enyard were named as First Team Selections. OL Brandon Haskin, OL Ken Van Heule III and DB Jourdan Wickliffe were named as Second Team selections.

The 2018 United Bowl Championship kicks off on Saturday, July 7 at 7:05 PM at the Wells Fargo Arena between the Sioux Falls Storm and the Iowa Barnstormers. The 2018 United Bowl can be viewed live on the IFL's YouTube channel!