Storm Announce 2019 Assistant Coaching Staff

Storm Announce 2019 Assistant Coaching Staff

Sioux Falls, SD – Head Coach Kurtiss Riggs and the Sioux Falls Storm announce today the hiring of Andre Fields and Jose Jefferson. In addition, coaches Brian Hermanson, Cory Johnsen, Blake Wilson, Paul Keizer and Terrance Bryant have also signed on for the 2019 season. 

"We are fortunate to have an amazing staff that includes the return of a veteran and the new addition of a veteran coach. Andre Fields will come back and help Coach Hermanson with the Storm defense, he will coach the defensive backs along with the special teams. Jose Jefferson will bring a wealth of experience and is one of the first coaches that the Storm have brought in from outside of the Storm family," said Head Coach Kurtiss Riggs. "We have an experienced staff that has been together for a long time and has been a part of many championship seasons, but are very lucky to get Coach Fields back and add Coach Jefferson to our staff." 

Defensive Backs/Special Teams Coach - Andre Fields 

Back after a year off from coaching with the Storm, Andre returns for his eighth season to coach defensive backs and special teams. Fields was a defensive back for the Storm from 2003-09. He started 108 consecutive games and assisted in four Storm championships. In 2005, Andre earned First Team All-UIF honors at the cornerback position.

Player Personnel Director - Jose Jefferson

Jefferson will be entering his first season on the Storm coaching staff. He has spent over 25 years in the coaching professional. Jose has coaching experience on all three levels; high school, college, and professional. He played five years in the AFL, two with the Arizona Rattlers (1993-94) and three with the Iowa Barnstormers (1995-97). Jose is the Executive Director/Founder of the College Gridiron Showcase (CGS).

Defensive Coordinator - Brian Hermanson 

A veteran of indoor football, Brian will be returning for his eighth season as the Defensive Coordinator. Brian boasts 34 years of coaching experience. Earlier in his coaching career, he served as the Defensive Coordinator at Roosevelt High School. He is best known for his remarkable success as the Head Coach at Washington High School from 2005-2012, compiling a 47-3 record during his tenure. He was recognized by South Dakota State University as the 2013 recipient of the Ralph Ginn Award for Coaching Excellence.

Defensive Line Coach - Cory Johnsen 

Cory will be entering his fourth season as the Defensive Line Coach. He boasts 10 years of indoor playing experience. He originally came to the Sioux Falls Storm in 2006 and served as the nose tackle for eight championship seasons. During Cory's 10-year career with the Storm, he has numerous All-League honors and is the Storm's All-Time Sack leader, tied for second for Career TFL's, tied for first for Career Forced Fumbles, ranks fourth for Career Blocked Kicks, and holds a Career Win-Loss record of 150-16.

Wide Receivers Coach - Blake Wilson 

Blake will be entering his fifth season as the Wide Receivers Coach. He played wide receiver for the Storm from 2011-14. Blake played at Southwest Minnesota State University where he found tremendous success as a wide receiver. During his junior and senior years, he tallied over 1,700 receiving yards and scored 24 touchdowns. He was named to the Daktronics All-Region team as a wide receiver and was also a two-time NSIC All-Conference performer as both a wide receiver and a return specialist. 

Offensive Line/Strength & Conditioning Coach - Paul Keizer 

Paul will be returning for his ninth season as the Offensive Line Coach. Paul, a former two-time All-Star, played for Sioux Falls in 2007 and 2008. During Keizer's career, the Storm allowed only 18 sacks on 836 passing attempts. The Storm offensive line, led by Keizer, set a team record in rushing yards and total points during the 2007 season.

Quarterbacks/Running Backs Coach - Terrance Bryant 

Terrance will return for his fifth season as Quarterbacks/Running Backs Coach. During his six year career with the Storm, Bryant led the Sioux Falls Storm to four straight championships in 2005-08, along with a 40-game winning streak. He is a two-time United Bowl MVP (2006 and 2013) and the UIF League MVP in 2006. In 2007, Bryant earned a UIF Conference All-Star selection. Bryant became the first player inducted into the IFL Hall of Fame in 2014.